ICC U-19 World Cup: India beats Australia by eight wickets


Tauranga: India defeated Australia by eight wickets in the exciting final match of Under-19 World Cup 2018 on Saturday at the Bay Oval, Tauranga.

India blow away Australia in the finals to become the first team to clinch the title for four times. Mohammad Kaif’s team lift the coveted title in 2000, Virat Kohli’s team won it in 2008 and Unmkut Chand led India won in 2012.

Australia are second on the list with three titles.

After winning the toss, Australia elected to bat and was all out for 216 in 47.2 overs at Bay Oval. They lost their top three batsmen with just 59 runs on the board, thanks to pacer Ishan Porel’s twin strikes early on.

Jonathan Merlo top-scored for Australia with 76 runs in 102 balls while Ishan Porel, Shiva Singh and Anukul Roy picked up two wickets each for India.

Open batsman Manjot Kalra scored unbeaten 101 leading India to win the match.

Australia captain Jason Sangha praised the Prithivi Shaw-led team for the incredible performance and said that they deserved to be the champions

This is the second time that India thrashed Australia in the final. Earlier India defeated Australia in the final of the 2012 edition.

The Board of Cricket Council of India (BCCI) announced prize money for victorious India U-19 team. Rahul Dravid, Head Coach India U19 will get Rs 50 lakhs while members of Indian Under-19 team will get Rs 30 lakhs with each Members of the Support Staff, receiving Rs 20 lakhs each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top