India Vs South Africa 5th ODI: India wins first ever ODI series in SA


Port Elizabeth: India defeated South Africa by 73 runs in the fifth ODI at the St. George’s Park in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday. With this win, India climbed to the top of the ICC ODI rankings.

India have won the six-match ODI series 4-1 with the last match to be played in Centurion on February 16. After victories in Durban (by six wickets), Centurion (by nine wickets) and Cape Town (by 124 runs), India were beaten on Saturday in a rain-hit fourth ODI, but men in blue made a comeback and clinched their first ever bilateral ODI series win on South African soil.

Chasing 275 to win, South Africa lost three quick wickets. Hardik Pandya dismissed JP Duminy and AB de Villiers in two consecutive overs and put India in front.

Opener Rohit Sharma led the tourists striking his 17th ODI century before chinaman Kuldeep Yadav returned figures of 4/51 to bowl the Proteas out for 201, in their chase of 274.

The Proteas started off fluently with skipper Aiden Markram (32) and Hashim Amla (71) putting on 52 runs in the first powerplay before first change seamer Pandya struck thrice in quick succession.

David Miller (36) came to South Africa’s rescue, forging a 62-run fourth wicket stand with Amla, before leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal brought the tourists back into the game with the wicket of the southpaw.

Amla reached his 35th ODI fifty, his first in 13 innings. He has reached the milestone of 7,500 runs in 50-over Cricket.
Pandya dismissed Amla with a brilliant direct throw.

Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav soon joined the party dismissing any chances of a South African comeback with the wickets of Andile Phehlukwayo (0), Kagiso Rabada (3), Heinrich Klaasen (39) and Tabraiz Shamsi (0) to reduce the hosts from 166/5 to 197/9.
Chahal then came back to trap last man Morne Morkel (1) as the visitors erupted in joy.

Brief scores: India 274/7 (Rohit Sharma 115, Virat Kohli 36, Shikhar Dhawan 34; Lungisani Ngidi 3/35) beat South Africa 201 (Hashim Amla 71, Heinrich Klaasen 39, Kuldeep Yadav 4/51, Hardik Pandya 2/30) by 73 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top